Jiunzan Tendaiji Columbarium

Paragate Association – Tendai Buddhist Institute


During early 2021, the Tendai Buddhist Institute / Jiunzan Tendaiji completed construction of a columbarium located next to the hondō (temple).

For those who are not familiar with this tradition, a columbarium is a place for the storage of urns holding cremated remains… the Chinese term is naguta (“bone-receiving pagoda”) and in Japanese it is nokotsudo (“bone-receiving hall”).

Buddhists were the first ones to build columbaria in Ancient Asia. Typically, they were very elaborate structures patterned after traditional Buddhist temples. Today, a columbarium is either attached to or a part of a Buddhist temple or cemetery. This practice allows for the family of the deceased to visit the temple for the conduct of traditional memorials.

Inurnment in the columbarium is available to the sangha members of the Tendai Buddhist Institute / Jiunzan Tendaijii. Inurnment is also available to the neighboring community (defined as those towns in New York and Massachusetts that adjoin the Town of Canaan).

The columbarium consists of 36 niches arranged in three rows (12 niches per row). Each niche is 12” X 12” X 12”, which may fit several urns (depending on the size of the urn). See the photograph below of a columbarium very similar to the one being constructed.

We are currently taking applications for niches and are allocated on a “first-come” basis (a red number indicates those already reserved).


2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11



14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23



26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35



The cost for a niche is $1650 for sangha members and $2000 for non-members, which includes the costs of maintaining the columbarium. Additional costs for the urn(s) and engraving the granite cover plate are NOT included.

We look forward to hearing from you.


The Paragate Association of the Tendai Buddhist Institute



Have Questions? Want to reserve a niche?

14 + 7 =

The columbarium is administered by the Paragate Association. Its Board of Directors consists of seven sangha members. Its officers are: President Chorin Donahoe, Vice-President Monshin Naamon, Treasurer Monko Spang, and Secretary Koshin Bower. Other Board Members are: Shumon Naamon, Shingaku Henderson, and Kaishun Frank.